Justice and Reverence: YOLO

Another word for reverence is “piety”, but piety is often misunderstood and is even used occasionally as a derogatory term – “She’s SO pious!”  Thanks to a wonderful small group leader, I just got my hands on this fantastic little jewel of a definition:

“”…the foundation of piety which consists in contentment with God and his will. It is the regulation of the heart that places us in union with the divine will…” Fr. Jean-Pierre De Caussade, S.J.

In other news related to justice/reverence/piety…

 So every once in a while I stumble upon something in my search for good resources for our programs that is perfect, but not exactly what I would be putting in their workbooks.  And THAT is Reason #659 why I run this blog for you.  It’s a place where I can put all that random crap that hopefully you can put to good use.

Ok, enough digression.  In the Spring we do a night on the virtue of justice and the gift of reverence.  I love how St. Thomas Aquinas put those 2 together – giving man what he is due and giving God what he is due.  I also love how those 2 things, in their very essence, draw us out of our own little worlds to look at the big picture and, dare I say, eternal picture.

The new internet buzzword (well, non-word) is YOLO, standing for You Only Live Once.  While there is some truth to that, it also makes us forget that we are not just made for this life, but for ETERNAL life – that eternal picture I was talking about before.

I found this simple, but great blog post related to this very concept.  Read it.  Use it in group.  Come up with your own examples.  Whatever.  I just had to share it with you.  You’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

